Schaumburg AM Rotarians - who have been meeting via Zoom video conferencing since early April due to the pandemic – along with spouses and significant others, recently enjoyed a socially distanced outdoor picnic celebration to mark the end of the 2019-20 Rotary year and to transition club leadership as the 2020-21 Rotary year began on July 1.
Outgoing club president Jerry Hays hosted this backyard event during which he cited numerous club highlights in his remarks to those gathered.  He also presented awards to the following club members -
  • Honorable Mention to Tim Gerhardt for his efforts in spearheading the development and launch of the club’s “Golden Ticket” virtual fundraiser, in addition to coordinating a club service project that resulted in a donation of 15 boxes filled with nonperishable food items to the Willow Creek Care Center food pantry to meet the increased need for food assistance caused by the economic fallout from COVID-19
  • Rotarian of the Year Award was presented to Tom Cunningham in recognition of his willingness to roll up his sleeves and do whatever is needed to support the club’s goals and objectives.
2020-21 club president Lisa Petersen along with her board of directors was installed by 2020-21 Rotary District 6440 Governor Lyle Staab.
Also present were Rotary District 6440 Governor Nominee Bill Kmiecik and the club’s new Assistant Governor Kitty Weiner.